Paul’s Fairy Garden

Greetings from Germany, readers!

Wow it has been a hot minute since I last posted in February. Since my last post I have moved away from the place I’ve called “home” for 21 years, visited eight different countries, lived in one of those eight countries, met loads of people representing many different nations, had lots of laughs and even a few tears. I could write innumerable blog posts about my time in Europe, and don’t worry…I will. But first, I’m going to try to tackle a massive concept that just got dropped in my lap. I will warn you all….I have no idea what I am about to say. I have no answers. This is just me, trying to process this insane thing called “life”. So, hold on tight, fam. Welcome to my ramblings of a thought process.

Although today is a freaking hot day in Germany I decided to sit outside and read. As I sit in my friend’s fairy tale garden and study Earnest Hemingway’s life I came across a quote of his. Hemingway once said “they have remained in the museum of my mind”. For some reason, ever since I read that I cannot shake it. Do me a favor and picture an art museum right now; any art museum from anywhere in the world. Now put yourself standing at the front door deciding which way to go. You choose which way you want to go based on the time period that you want to look at. Each art museum has it’s work divided by the time period it was made in and you make your way through the history of the world as told by art.

The museum I decided to go with is the Louvre in Paris. If any of you have been there, you know how ridiculously massive it is. It’s truly insane how huge this place is. The first thing you do is walk in, go down the escalator and all the sudden you find yourself standing in this circle that is the middle of the museum and all around you are different entrances to different exhibits. It is completely overwhelming and huge. But so exciting as well! You are standing in Paris in the middle of a museum that is known around the world, literally surrounded by pieces of art work that have been famous for hundreds of years before you even existed. The short years of your life suddenly pale in comparison to your surroundings.

Hemingway’s quote got me thinking. He calls his mind a museum. So then I started thinking about the parallels between minds and museums. This leads to the series of questions that begin with this. If you had a museum, how would you lay it out? What would you put on display? What would you name it? What pieces would you keep hidden in the basement? Would you change the exhibits out seasonally?  Or put on events? What types of art would have the largest sections? What time periods would be left out? What shape would you build? Would it be brick and stone or glass? If you were doing a virtual tour of your museum, what would it look like? Now, let’s take it a step further and change the question. Picture that your mind is this museum. What changed? Did anything even change? Is the layout the same? When people first meet you, they are standing at the entrance. What rooms do they walk in first? Or are they allowed to choose wherever they want to go? What gets put on display? Can they see through the glass from the outside? What do they have to do in order to see? What gets hidden so deeply that they need keys to access the art work?

Each “art display” is your life. Each painting is an experience you’ve had, sculptures are people you’ve met, things you’ve touched, pictures you’ve taken. The plaques at the bottom of the work are the things you have to say. It’s your stories, your quotes, your thoughts. It does not all need to be either black and white or full of color. Change it up. Let each “room” be different. This bog has no point other than to just attempt an explication of the spiral that one tiny phrase sent my mind into. Maybe I am reading too much into something that does not actually matter; something that was never intended to be looked at twice. But, ohh well. I don’t care. I just did it. So, I’ll leave you all with this..sit down and think. Think about your mind being a museum. Figure out what it looks like and what you want it to look like. Does it need to be updated? If it does then do it. Figure it out. Go for it. Due to my overdue writing, I could type for hours. But I won’t make you suffer through reading too much of what I have to say.

P.S. I just realized I don’t have an good pictures of the Louvre so I decided o go with one I took at the Eiffel Tower. Close enough, hey?

So, here’s to Hemingway and here’s to Paul for letting me crash at his place and read in his fairy garden, here’s to Paris and here’s to you all!

Until next time. And as always, thanks for reading!

Cheers, friends. Much love always

Elaina Pavia

IMG_1285

Leave a Reply

